About Us


Martyn Clark

Appointed Trustee: 2012 ♦ Appointed Chairman:  2018

Martyn went to sea as Navigation Cadet in 1971 and qualified as a Captain in 1984 having sailed all around the world carrying various cargoes of different types, visiting various Seafarers Missions in these locations. In 1988 Martyn came ashore as Deputy Harbourmaster in Dundee and latterly Harbourmaster before moving to Grangemouth as Harbourmaster. Within Forth Ports he was also Harbourmaster of Leith and Rosyth and also Marine Manager running the 24/7 Forth and Tay Navigation Service. He is immediate past Chairman of the West and Central Scotland Liaison Committee for the Merchant Navy Welfare Board.  Apart from other marine-based charity work, Martyn is an Elder in his local Church of Scotland Church.  Martyn is married to Mary with married son and daughter and proud Grandpa to 3 grandchildren.


Simon Filsell

Appointed Trustee 2017
Simon follows in the steps of his late father, with direct involvement in the Mission to Seafarers.  He spent 15 years looking after property and IT matters for the Church of England, before becoming Business Manager for a grammar school in Buckinghamshire.  In 2012 he took up the role of Diocesan Administrator for the Episcopal Diocese of Edinburgh.  He has sung in several cathedral and chamber choirs and, since 2005 has run a choir of semi-professional choir, which has raised significant sums of money for a wide range of charities across the UK.


David Graham-Service

Appointed Trustee: November 2015 ♦ Appointed Treasurer: November 2015

David was a qualified chartered engineer working on various projects connected with the Sea. He has spent some years working at Rosyth Dockyard on ship and submarine refits and also has been involved in the building of small vessels for Custom and Excise and for specially commissioned vessels. His interests lie in the welfare of people and works as a volunteer visitor in a hospital specialising in short term and respite care. David is also involved with the Trussell Trust Foodbank in Bathgate and an active member of the Episcopal Church.


Jennifer Kathleen Gray

Appointed Trustee: 2014

Jenni first joined the Mission to Seafarers in the 1980’s when she became their Honorary Secretary for the parish of Canvey Island. She went on to become Administrator of the Flying Angel Club in Tilbury Docks, also taking on the duties of Lay Chaplain whilst the post remained vacant. She served on the London & South East Ports Welfare Committee and was actively involved with the local branch of the Merchant Navy Association. On moving to Scotland she became responsible for co-ordinating the many supporters who knit on behalf of seafarers as well as taking on many other voluntary roles within her local community.


Brian Partridge

Appointed Trustee 2017






Jennifer Rae

Appointed Trustee: 2017
Married mum of three Jennifer holds the position of Minutes Secretary / Board Administrator as well as that of Trustee.  Jennifer is an accountant who carries out bookkeeping duties for several small businesses fitting them around her involvement with The Mission to Seafarers Scotland.


Rev Timothy Tunley

Appointed Chaplain: 2009

Tim left Theological College in 2002. He was ordained and work as a curate in Boroughbridge and Knaresborough. He went on to be Vicar of Arkengarthdale and Swaledale, then went to be team Vicar of Seacroft in Leeds. Tim has visited many of the ports in Scotland and preached at many of the Scottish Episcopalian churches up and down the country. For Tim the best thing about Mission To Seafarers Scotland is its volunteer base. Without them it would be very difficult to sustain the level of visiting we undertake